The Mourning Show

As I sit here writing this a mourning dove is cooing somewhere outside my window. It’s a gorgeous sound and it brings back so many memories of growing up in the middle of one of North America’s great migratory flyways.

I missed the sweet birds of my youth when I moved to the West Coast. Oh, there are lots of birds there but the most spectacular ones, like the bald eagles which congregate in great numbers , are somewhat difficult to embrace on a personal level. Nature is so routinely big along the Pacific rainforest that if you’re not careful it’s liable to swoop right down and scoop up your Shih Tzu !

I had a drink with a new Ontario neighbour a few days ago and while we were sitting there on the back porch enjoying the view of her summer garden a cardinal landed in one of her apple trees. I hadn’t seen a cardinal in more than fifteen years. I got a little thrill.

I remember cardinals gathered in the snow around our bird feeder in December and it always seemed like nature was embracing the Christmas spirit by decking all that white with those sudden bursts of red.

Bird watching is an all-consuming passion for some. They travel great distances and go to corresponding expense to log their sightings and build their ornithological resumes. I’m content to let it come to me. A cardinal in an apple tree and a mourning dove outside my window. I’m good.

One Response to “The Mourning Show”

  1. gerard d'anjou Says:

    oh ,thats where you are now, miss you in bc, coming back? any time soon??

Leave a Reply

