Royal Jelly

What am I missing here? What’s the matter with me? Since everyone else is wading earlobe deep into the so-called ‘Wedding-of-the-Century’ why should I leave myself out? Except, I care not a quid. Nothing leaves me colder than what is about to unfold across the pond. It’s not that I don’t wish them well. I do. God knows that family could use a little marital stability. But don’t expect me to sit up all night watching the parade. I have a 90-year-old mother in law who is going to do just that. And I have a broadcasting colleague who’s flown over just to be part of the ‘scene’. It almost makes me feel as if I’m missing something…or about to.

Except ,I have looked deep within the better angels of my nature and I know I couldn’t stomach it. It’s not the wedding….it’s the media firestorm. And nothing makes the media look worse than the pack mentality around an event that no one presumes they can afford to miss. I can. And I will. Wake me when it’s over.

3 Responses to “Royal Jelly”

  1. I was too busy packing for the move and missed it on moving day. I for one, wanted to see the wedding, nothing before it or after it. Instead I saw bits of it in the Victoria newspaper.

Leave a Reply

