The Daily Double

One in a thousand?

I’m not the kind of person who looks for omens. I suppose it’s really the omens that look for you. You just have to be bright enough to recognize them.  I was doing a television interview with someone outdoors a few weeks back when a bird crapped on their shoulder. Instantly the camera operator said, ‘ Oh, that’s good luck ‘.  Not in my books. It may signify excellent aim…but I don’t think it has anything to do with tidings, glad or otherwise.

Anyway, there seem to be a lot of things doubling up here in the Gerry family and I have to wonder if it all means something. We have two sons, both of whom are tieing the knot within weeks of each other. I don’t know how it worked out that way but I’m just trying roll with the punches. I figure I did my bit as the only one in the family who made it possible for the Gerry name to continue. My conscience is clear. Now it’s their turn.

But back to the omens. This morning I cracked an egg with a double yolk. They say one in a thousand eggs has a double yolk but it’s the first time it has ever happened to me. And then, almost at the same moment that the egg hit the pan, the Frau (who was putting together a fruit plate)  turned to me and brandished a double cherry. Where is this kind of luck when I’m in Las Vegas? Understand, it’s not just two pieces of fruit on the same stem…it’s a couple of cherries that have actually grown into each other.

Wedded Bings

So..a double yolk, a double cherry and two sons wedded in little more than two weeks. I know what you’re thinking and, hey, I’m hip. I’ll be booking double the amount of time in Mexico soon before this whole house is overrun with twins!

3 Responses to “The Daily Double”

  1. Dave,
    Congrats on your double weddings. You’re right, what are the chances! I’m very happy your family is well, happy and (likely) soon to be thriving.
    C

  2. Hi Dave:

    My mother used to say, “Shit luck is good luck” when referring to getting bombed by a bird. As she explained it, you’re luck couldn’t be much worse at that moment in time, so you would be having better luck afterwards.

    Gordon

Leave a Reply

