The Shadow of Time

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=sundial&iid=5157145″ src=”a/f/f/2/closeup_of_the_5922.jpg?adImageId=12560452&imageId=5157145″ width=”234″ height=”321″ /]

Boy, you’re really going to think I’m an old fogey after you read this one but, frankly Scarlett, I don’t give a damn!

I just came inside from the back garden to write this post and I knew exactly what the hour was, though there wasn’t a timepiece in sight. I simply looked at the sundial. Granted, this only works if there’s a glint of sunlight above which, at this time of year, can fade faster than the hopes of local hockey fans. But the sundial told me it was 10:15 am..more or less..give or take ten minutes…and that’s a true enough indicator for me.

I presume people still populate their wrists with watches, I really don’t know. I have about four of them sitting in a bedroom drawer. None of them work. They were all given to me by various management people with various broadcast entities and the watches seemed preprogrammed to fail just about the time each management team did.

So I gave up on watches. The time is constantly before us. It’s on our computers or our cellphones. It’s winking merrily from the dashboard of your car. It’s instantly available on your television,your vcr, your pvr or on the radio where they give you a traffic update along with a enamel-grinding commercial from a local car dealership every six seconds. Just from where I’m sitting in my office right now I can spin around and find the time on a wall clock, an answering machine and a not-to-distant microwave oven in the kitchen.

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=wrist+watch&iid=8393919″ src=”d/2/8/f/Man_setting_watch_0595.jpg?adImageId=12560517&imageId=8393919″ width=”234″ height=”231″ /]    You have to assume, then, that people who wear a wrist watch are treating it simply as a fashion accessory. They may also simply like the feel of the thing on their arm. These are the kind of people who tell you that they feel naked if they leave the home without a watch. I don’t think I’m ever going back to those days. I’m working on walking out of the house without pants and still feeling complete.

6 Responses to “The Shadow of Time”

  1. I agree Dave. I haven’t worn a watch more than a handful of times in the last 30 years. I’m never more than a few feet from some appliance or electronic gizmo that will let me know what time of day it is but it sure would be nice to be able to go to bed when I’m tired and get up when I’m rested without having a clock dictate either of those events.

  2. not old fogey, what about just fogey?

  3. VanAudio Says:

    Don’t apologize for being an “old fogey”. That’s why I like you…but you know that.

  4. Hello Dave, I lived in Baja Mexico for a year a few years ago and did not wear a watch the whole time I was there. I was wonderful… No ball and chain.. I wish I could do that here

Leave a Reply

