Saturday’s Hangup

[picapp align=”center” wrap=”false” link=”term=upside+down&iid=215486″ src=”0211/11ec5dde-0fec-4c59-a4fc-260824ea5aa0.jpg?adImageId=9697158&imageId=215486″ width=”234″ height=”326″ /]

I was upside down today for a few minutes. Deliberately. I cannot recall the last time I voluntarily put myself upside down. It must have been when I was either flying as a passenger in an aerobatic bi-plane or much, much earlier when I was about eight years old. Eight year olds can spend a lot of time upside down. I remember being able to stand on my head, eat cereal and watch television forever. But the skill, if that’s what it is, is soon lost and before you know it you find yourself getting a little woozy just bending over to tie your shoes.

But today I broke through the inversion threshold. I was strapped to something called a yoga wall and it was quite a stretch! I thought it would produce instant nausea or- at the very least- some dizziness but such was not the case. It actually felt pretty good which, I presume, is the whole point to utilizing the yoga wall.  I don’t know a damn thing about yoga. I’m a yoga virgin…a yogin, if you will . But it was explained to me that when you hang upside down and let gravity do all the pulling for you it’s kinda refreshingly-expansive to the spine.

Wait a minute…I do remember the last time I found myself upside down. A couple of years ago I was over-extended on a ladder while topping a backyard hemlock…and I suddenly fell into the tree. I managed to right myself just in time to execute a controlled fall through several branches to the lawn below. The neighbour was impressed.

Now that I’ve been spent some quality time at 180 degrees, I may go back there again.

Anything that can make you feel like an eight year old has gotta be good stuff.

Leave a Reply

