May I ask You a Question?

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=wet+sidewalk&iid=5268611″ src=”b/e/3/9/Businesspeople_Walking_in_d872.jpg?adImageId=8431582&imageId=5268611″ width=”336″ height=”508″ /] I was back on the street again yesterday, back out there in the rain, microphone in hand, pleading for people to stop and talk.

There’s much greater detail about the television man-on-the-street scenario earlier on this blog if you go to the post entitled On The Street Where You Live.

As I say, I was out there…on Vancouver’s Commercial Drive which is a bit like being in the middle of a Fellini film. You never know what you’re going to get.  It’s a mosaic. Yes, I believe that would be the proper, if not polite, term…a mosaic. People were, for the most part, pleasant which is the way it should be. My initial approach is always pleasant and I expect a similar response.

A couple of younger types did have their ear buds in so tight they wouldn’t have noticed me if I had thrown myself at their feet.

And there are always a few souls who have no time talk to me because they are too busy having a compelling conversation with themselves. This is the thrust and parry of life on the sidewalk.

One person, an elderly woman, did chastise me for taking up so much of her time ( must have been forty seconds)  that she missed the crosswalk signal. That’s a busy lady. By the way, who establishes the volume level on that crosswalk tweet?  Is that a factory setting? You get the go-ahead to walk and it sounds like a 200 pound sparrow is aggressively seeking seed. I understand the feature may help the hard of hearing but this CHIRP will fragment the fillings in your teeth.

There were car horns and undermuffled trucks and the sirens from passing fire engines and police cars. In a few months, just like the swallows in Capistrano, the cadence of  leaf blowers and power washers and pile drivers and jack hammers will lyrically reappear. It’s all the stuff that makes a big city sing and a working reporter cringe.

And I was glad to be out there again.

Leave a Reply

