Curiosity will skin the Cat

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=hotel+room+bar&iid=5090493″ src=”d/1/9/1/Messy_hotel_room_2845.jpg?adImageId=7865525&imageId=5090493″ width=”500″ height=”333″ /]

Have you experienced the next generation of hotel mini-bar technology? This is an intimidating encounter!

The Frugal Frau does not allow any voyeuristic grazing through the confines of the fridge and, of course, that’s a good thing now that mini-bars have been wired with enough sensors to defeat George Clooney and the full cast of Ocean’s Eleven.

We all know that if you take something out of the mini-bar, you’re very likely to be paying for it. It doesn’t matter if it was consumed…you moved it. Boom! It’s a rehydration version of the game Battleship.

I also discovered that you can’t keep your own beer or wine cool in that fridge. The machine doesn’t like that either.

This week, for the first time, I was confronted by the uber-sensitive snack tray. This sits innocently enough, in plain view atop the bar and virtually beckons you to be nosey. Ever picked up a small can of Pringles from the snack tray? What are you, crazy?! Must be nice to feel that flush.

The new trays give you 60 seconds…60 seconds…to put that tiny bag of pretzels or nuts back in the exact spot or suffer the cost.

If you pick up the nuts to read the label (why would you do that?) and someone momentarily distracts you with a knock on the door you’ll run out of time and be charged accordingly. I suppose you can ring up the desk and argue your case but who needs the stress? God forbid that you might have a curious four or five-year old in the room. He could blow through his education fund while you’re two steps away flossing in the bathroom.

I never touch the mini-bar. It’s like disarming a land mine. As far as I’m concerned it’s an Egyptian tomb which shall remain forever sealed. I don’t know if it’s possible to pick up a bag of chips and simultaneously replace it with something of an equal volume and weight (much like Indiana Jones did with the golden idol in Raiders of the Lost Ark) without triggering the charge but the whole thing seems a tad punitive.

Somewhere, some guy with a mind for petty thievery and a whole lot of crumbs in his bed must have gone on a mini-bar bender..and now we’re all paying the price.

One Response to “Curiosity will skin the Cat”

  1. I can relate to the mini bar fridge dilemma. I remember way back then when I was in my early 20’s, stayed at the CP hotel in Calgary. I was naive then and I totally raided the bar fridge for the snacks and helped myself to those little bottles of booze to give to my friends and family as souvenirs. I was shocked when I received a bill from the hotel. I don’t dare go near one now. LOL!

Leave a Reply

