Hersteria

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=sarah+palin&iid=7088261″ src=”4/b/c/5/Sarah_Palin_signs_956d.JPG?adImageId=7675321&imageId=7088261″ width=”500″ height=”488″ /]

As a Canadian it is hard for me to fathom the size of the crowds showing up at former vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin’s book signings. The people queuing up for hours on end seem to be in some state of dorky delirium.

I can’t think of a single Canadian politician who could possibly evoke this kind of emotion. It is true that Pierre Trudeau’s rise to power in the late 1960’s was accompanied by a certain ‘mania’ which, at the time, seemed completely out of national character…but generally Canadians reserve most of their bandwagon time for hockey. Does this make us dull? Yes, but I’ll take dull over demented any day.

The fact that Sarah Palin is getting this kind of boost is beyond me. The fact that many people in the crowd are gushing statements like, ‘ We want her to be the next President’, has me contemplating a move to Micronesia. It feels like a kind of latent, misguided feminism that must have the icons of that movement diving for cover.

Oprah Winfrey’s news that she is leaving daily television has momentarily pushed the perky Palin out of the spotlight and that must be sticking somewhere deep in her craw. Frankly, I’d much rather see Oprah in the oval office.

Sarah Palin is the perfect political metaphor for a society consumed with ‘celebrity without substance’ . It’s  true that as a former governor she has some political chops, but there is something here that doesn’t quite ring true. What is it? Ironically,  she has a made-to-measure running mate for current public attention in Levi Johnston, the man who has fathered her grandchild. Now that he’s dropped his pants for Playgirl he’s apparently taking aim at an acting career. Acting? It’s kooky. It’s crazy. Forget about the forebodings of the Mayan calendar this is as sure a sign as any that we’re all going to hell in a hand basket.

Stop the world I want to get off.

One Response to “Hersteria”

  1. Now that’s what I’m talking about….

    I couldn’t agree more Dave. What the fascination is with this ‘naughty librarian’ Palin, I do not know. I’m being polite when I say she’s an idiot and and and embarrassment to women everywhere. I’ve heard more intelligence come out of Jessica Simpsons mouth when she was chewing on some chicken of the sea…

    I’m not a religious person, but I’m serious when I say God save us all, if she ever gets remotely close to that oval office.

Leave a Reply

