When Does ‘Ini’ mean Teenie?

Perplexed by Pasta

I think my wife may have officially lost her mind because I see her in the kitchen measuring pasta. I’ve seen her measure shirts to ensure that they fold neatly within a drawer…but I’ve never witnessed a sizing up of strands.

Specifically, she’s trying to figure out why the spaghettini she bought looks pretty much the same thickness as standard spaghetti. She wanted something thinner.  We had a meal last night of pasta tossed in a sauce of olive oil, anchovies, garlic and fresh basil with sauteed prawns. But while we were eating I couldn’t help but notice that the pasta looked, tasted and slurped pretty much like regular spaghetti. When am I going to learn to keep my mouth shut?

So now she’s off on a quest for knowledge. Trying to figure out some of these terms for pasta is like trying to crack the Da Vinci Code. What she should have bought, I guess, is vermicelli or even Capelli d’angelo (angel hair pasta).

There’s no specific dimension noted (other than total weight) on the spaghettini package. It must be a matter of trust. If you see the ending ‘ ini ‘ then you are to assume that it’s a slimmer noodle. If you see ‘ oni ‘…it’s bigger.

But the bloodhound in her will not be forced from the trail. I think she senses a conspiracy or , at the very least, some kind of labelling shortfall. And I know, as sure as I’m sitting here writing this, that somewhere (maybe not this week..perhaps next) there’s going to be a very animated discussion between The Frau and some hapless supermarket manager about truth in advertising when it comes to the Italian food section.

I love food but I don’t claim for a moment to know much about the intricacies of Italian cuisine. If you are working for some government agency in charge of spaghettini protocol, get back to me as soon as you can. Time is of the essence.

Ciao

5 Responses to “When Does ‘Ini’ mean Teenie?”

  1. Mary Spagnol Says:

    Dave! I finally found you! I am so glad to see you have not lost your wry (sometimes rye?) sense of humour and are letting us have a glimpse into your twisted mind on this blog. I am also pleased to meet the Frugal Frau and believe every woman who has seen your work would like to shake her hand!
    I would love to see you back on TV but this is good for now. I really hope you put all your experiences in a book someday (or 2 or 3…) and I’ll bet the Frugal Frau could write her own about Surviving Dave Gerry!

  2. Good Morning Dave!
    I actually discovered that spaghettini a couple of years back. However, I realized I could make my homemade spaghetti even healthier. I now like to use ground chicken (instead of beef) and I use whole wheat pasta and I measure for serving sizes too. It actually tastes pretty good. Now if I can just get my son to eat the vegetables I’d be good to go! I am thinking of pureeing the vegetables so that they go un-noticed…lol…but you know kids they watch all that you do, so that might be a difficult one! Thanks for making my day that much brighter by talking about something I love, FOOD!
    Cheers,
    Renee

    • Hi Renee,
      I’m rapidly getting to the age where pureed vegetables are, once again, going to be an option. Ah, the circle of life!

      • LOL!! that is funny, ya, I guess the older we get (even me at the ripe at 0f 37) our teeth become more sensitive, our ears are more sensitive, and even our stomach are more sensitive! It is like a lose lose situation…maybe I will try acupuncture, NOT!!

Leave a Reply

