I Can’t Believe We Got Away With It

First, thanks to those who participated in this first flurry of response. It is inevitable that some of you are going to drag me kicking and screaming back to the heady days of Vancouver television production when some of us were pretty much getting away with murder (content-wise, I mean).

Vancouver public relations whiz kid Mat Wilcox mentions the chicken suit sketch in the glass elevator that ran up the outside of the downtown Hyatt Regency. That reference alone is enough to get you removed from my Christmas Card list, Mat.

Another old friend, videographer Lester Lightstone, has referenced the all-too politically incorrect Surrey Vice, an episodic spoof that germinated on CKVU-TV’s Vancouver Live show and went on to spawn its own one hour special.

ScannedImage-6

That, of course, is Global TV weatherman Wayne Cox on the right as Sonny and yours truly as his (full-bodied makeup) wingman Rico. Don’t worry folks, the pieces were fake. I was honoured to have attended Wayne’s 60th birthday bash this past summer up at Green Lake in the Cariboo and I brought with me a little momento from those lazy, hazy, crazy days almost 25  years ago.  How Wayne’s wife Jeri managed to stage such a successful surprise party with 70 people, all the way up in the Cariboo, I will never know.

Good times from the past and I intend to revisit plenty of them on this blog.

Dave

8 Responses to “I Can’t Believe We Got Away With It”

  1. Hey Dave,

    Congratulations and welcome to the world of blogging! Love that Surrey Vice bit, so appropriate! Some things never change….
    Can’t wait to see what more there is to come.

  2. deneen reiter Says:

    I remember Surrey Vice well and fondly! So funny and yet so silly. Can you imagine something like that running today on tv … just wouldn’t happen. Dave we are still missing you on BT … not the same without you and Simi

  3. Johnny Michel Says:

    My, my, my…. you two are too ugly to be true!

    • Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Johnny Michel, currently the CBC’s Regional Director for British Columbia who once played a killer pimp in an episode of Surrey Vice.
      There is no danger he will ever be a guest with James Lipton on Inside the The Actor’s Studio.

    • For the uninitiated, that is a classic line from Surrey Vice. And from time to time at 3:00 in the morning I wake up with that line rambling through my head and realize it’s over….no more sleep for me tonight. Love you Johnny. And thanks for the memories Dave.
      Wayne.

    • Ahhh yes! Those WERE the daze weren’t they??? SO many memorable lines … “CRACKED CRAB!!!”

      This series should be REBORN!!

  4. Grant Bowen Says:

    Love the blog Dave! But I’d really like to have you back on the air even more. Patiently waiting…

Leave a Reply

